what to pack for Seattle:fall edition

Seattle skyline at sunset, WA, USA

When you have lived in New York all your life, rain and grey skies are no strangers to you. None the less, I called my aunt to ask her what I should pack for a weeks trip to Seattle, her reply “rain in Seattle falls like leaves from trees in NY”. Perfect I thought, I’ll be Seattle ready in no time, all I have to do is bring my closet along with me… Now that’s where all the problems lie. When you’re flying there’s only so much you can bring, and there’s only so much room in a luggage. So if you’re like me, you’re probably struggling trying to come up with a list of what to bring and what you can go with out. I’m not one to pack light, but after sitting down with a cup of Joe and some brainstorming , I believe I got my essentials list figured out. Stay tuned to see what I’m bringing!

  1. Umbrella- because when you are visiting rain city central it’s probably a good idea to bring an umbrella along with you, in fact most likely it’ll become your best friend through out your trip. Yes,  legend has it you won’t melt if you get wet from rain, but hey no one is trying to get their hair doo ruined or get their outfit drenched before they go into that cute Seattle café for a cup of Joe.
  2. clothes that layer well- you betcha I’ll  be bringing those cardigans, denim jackets, over sized sweaters, flowy tops, skinny jeans/leggings, and scarves along with me.
  3. boots- they take up a lot of space in your luggage that’s a fact, but as you’re strolling the streets of Seattle, you’ll be glad you brought these along. Besides, I can’t imagine having to explore the city in wet socks being anything but comfortable.
  4. make up/hair care/toiletries- you’re visiting a new city, it’s a given you’ll be out and about for most of your stay ,so of course you’ll be getting dolled up at some point of time. As far as make up goes, I don’t have a problem with over packing at this department, a tube of mascara, eyeliner, too faced travel size eye shadow, and lip stick of some sort will do the trick. As far as hair care goes, I can’t ever decide between curly or straight hair, so curling iron and hair straightener are coming along, throwing in a travel sized hair spray and calling it a wrap. As far as toiletries go, people this is one thing you absolutely must not forget!!! You just might be riding solo all trip! But really, no one is trying to smell you morning coffee breath all day so please remember to bring those toiletries along.

With all that said and done, I believe I’m Seattle Ready!! What do you guys bring along on your trips?

Leave a Reply

